Post & the DI

Posted on by

Back to Post & the DI...

Opinion about color correction (4 replies and 6 comments)

Karen R
1 month ago
Karen R 1 month ago

Hello -

I'm color correcting my reel and using some footage shot on a 5dmkiii that's got a real yellow cast to it. I'd appreciate your opinion about the attached images. One is still quite yellow and the other attempts to remove most of the yellow, but leans quite lavender. 

Part of the problem is that the walls on the set were yellow which was not a great choice for skin tones.

Please let me know if you prefer one over the other, or if you have thoughts about how to improve them.

Much appreciated!

Karen Rodriguez

 

https://www.rogerdeakins.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/from-pp.png
https://www.rogerdeakins.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/from-CC.png
Mike
1 month ago
Mike 1 month ago

I prefer the first one as the light on the second photo looks too harsh.
Ofcourse, it all depends on what you are trying to say to the viewer.

Perhaps you can make a compromise of the two. Try using a difuser to soften the image. Only my opinion.

Is this a photo of you or someone’s else’s work.

 

Karen R
1 month ago

Thank you. I agree a compromise of the two would be best and also to keep the softness on her skin that the first one has. This is a picture of an actress that I worked with on this project. I'm actually not editing the film, but just using some of the footage from the shoot which took place in 2013.

Mike
1 month ago
Mike 1 month ago

Compromise of the two.

https://www.rogerdeakins.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/FA15EDEC-A6B5-4625-BE4C-9507C294DF29.jpeg
Jacob W.
1 month ago

Just by this one frame, this compromise makes it feel like a vintage period piece. Which I think gives a super cool style. But it all depends on the story and the tone and feel of such.

Karen R
1 month ago

That's a really interesting look! I thought about going sepia with the footage since it's set in the 50s, but I think the brighter colors overall work better for the mood.

simon m
1 month ago
simon m 1 month ago

You could use a qualifier and try to create a mask of the background, and then change the hue on that a little. It may not work well because of the similarity of hue and luminance values between the face and the wall, but I'd give it a try.

Karen R
1 month ago

That's a good suggestion. The damn walls!!! I'll try to post the final.

Mike
1 month ago

Very pretty girl, would love to photograph her in a studio environment.
Look forward to seeing the final treatment.

Karen R
1 month ago
Karen R 1 month ago

Here's what we ended up with. Brought up the black levels a bit for more detail in her hair and softened the detail in her skin. 

https://www.rogerdeakins.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/From-PP-final.png
Mike
1 month ago

Yes, that’s lovely, a little too bright for my tastes but still lovely. I would “zap” those “zits” or use a heavy foundation. Showreels are analysed so it pays to get it right.

Back to Post & the DI...