Lighting

Posted on by
Back to Lighting...

Cinematography show reel review (3 replies and 12 comments)

sanghamithran
2 months ago
sanghamithran 2 months ago

Master Roger and all forum members , could you please care to give a feedback on this show reel. 

https://youtu.be/z76tiFD2WPk»

 

Mike
2 months ago
Mike 2 months ago

Very impressive, I do like your images, superb lighting. Well chosen sound track too and well timed editing. There are some great images here imo, may I ask what camera and lenses you were using.

Very nice show reel, I was truly impressed, well done.

Would anybody else like to offer their opinion. You must admit it is rather good.

(Assume you are in the South of India)

sanghamithran
2 months ago

Hearty thanks Mike,
Different cameras and lenses used here starting from entry level nikon d5200 dslr and kit lens to Lumix s1 and cp3 on some shots only,
Yes I'm South Indian

Jacob W.
2 months ago
Jacob W. 2 months ago

I agree with Mike.

Wow Sanghamithran this is really impressive.

I would also love to know the camera and lenses you use and any of your lighting gear/post production tools to achieve some of those really nice deep colors. There was a lot of really nice stylistic variety. It is definitely a great showcase of your talent. I would love to know where you are from and what you aspire to work towards. Normally what are these projects budgeted at? And are you working with large number of crew or just a few people?

As someone who is aiming to shoot their own feature I would love to know how you were able to capture some of these shots and the extent to which it took to achieve them. Thank you so much for sharing the video!=

By context clues I'm assuming your from India? Or somewhere adjacent? 

sanghamithran
2 months ago

Hearty thanks Jacob,
All these are from student funded low budget productions,
Gears are from entry level DSLRs to Lumix s1 camera, mostly standard photography lenses and some shots used cp3 zeiss,

Lighting is mostly work lights not so much professional lights used, 

For Camera movements mostly gimbal 
Colouring done in davinci resolve,
Crew is mostly less than 10 people,

I'm aspiring to do cinematography in films like all of us guys here,

Jacob W.
2 months ago

Wow quite impressive for just student funded productions! It's quite inspiring here to know this level can be achieved with relatively inexpensive and unprofessional lighting. Keep up the work Sanghamithran.

sanghamithran
2 months ago

Thank you Jacob

cujo
2 months ago
cujo 2 months ago

Nice work. But maybe too long? Showreels are usually 2-3 minutes and is it, a lot of the material in this one seems to show the same skills and looks repeatedly.

sanghamithran
2 months ago

Hearty thanks cujo,
Will look into the length issue, could you elaborate on what made you think the repetitiveness , so that I could change the edit with much better shot selection .

cujo
2 months ago

From the pov of a showreel, the only importance a shot has is in demonstrating a certain sort of competence. So when you're over 3 minutes and two shots show the same lighting style and other skills, it's probably a good idea to just keep the better one. Eg there are a lot of backlit silhouette shots - do you need all of them? Do you need all of the b&w shots of the guy in the hat? Do you need all the landscape shots? With too many shots of the same kind there's always the risk that people will remember the overall average rather than the best. Eg the landscape shots at 1.01 and 1.09 are superb, but the one at 1.05 dilutes them.

sanghamithran
2 months ago

Thanks cujo, Got it ,
have to correct them in the next edit thank you.

cujo
2 months ago

You might try to reduce the number of clips even more, so you can make the best ones a little longer - I really felt like 1.01 and 1.09 flashed by too fast.

sanghamithran
2 months ago

Thanks again cujo for your time and feedback,
Will do that in the next edit ,I need to look in on shot selection a bit more , made this edit in an intuitive manner actually , that why I couldn't view it at an objective perspective

cujo
2 months ago

It's often hard to be objective about your own work. Maybe use a checklist? Have categories like eg landscape shot and count how many you have and give a rating to each. If you've got more than three of anything, keep only the best. And if you have a 9, an 8, and a 5... Then maybe pull the 5, even if it leaves you with only two shots of that type.

sanghamithran
2 months ago

Got it cujo, Thanks again .

cujo
2 months ago

I'm glad it was useful. You might want to youtube search "cinematography reel" and see the average length and how they are organized.

Also, I think you *might* be missing just one thing, but it's an important one - a sequence showing shot/reverse shot:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UE3jz_O_EM»

Back to Lighting...