Film Talk

Posted on by

Goldfinch Reviews (4 replies and 9 comments)

David W
2 months ago
David W 2 months ago

Roger,

I doubt you have concerned yourself with the ratings that the goldfinch has received on rotten tomatoes, but critics gave the film a 26% whilst movies like IT, Dora, and Ready or Not have much better reviews.

The critics review really shocked me-granted I havent yet seen the film- because from what I have seen, it looks like the most compelling, character driven film to come out this year! Most of the movies out there are in my opinion, dull, unimaginative, cash grabs with a few exceptions. 

 It really bugs me that people don't appreciate films like this.

What do you think of the reviews this film has recieved?

Have reviews like this for films you worked on ever bothered you?

Thank you.

 

Roger Deakins
2 months ago
Roger Deakins 2 months ago

I must say I was a little surprised by some of the reactions to the film. I am disappointed for everyone who worked on the film, but I guess anyone who has a lap top can call themselves a film reviewer. I hardly ever agree with any of them. So it goes!

RobertoAntonioni
2 months ago

So well spoken, except nowadays all you need is your cellphone haha. Ignore film reviews is always my way. Some of the greatest films have bad reviews!

The Byre
2 months ago

I always make a point of watching those movies that the established critics don't like. They tend to faun over movies that feature over-acting and incomprehensible and rather boring plotlines; they almost never appreciate rhythm, imagery and sound design and almost to a man, miss the core question that the movie poses.

I don't mind someone criticising from a position of authority and achievement, but film critics are seldom people that have actually used a camera in anger, let alone made a successful movie!

I am constantly reminded of something the legendary record producer Mickie Most (Led Zeplin, N. Sinatra, Hot Choclate and about 100 others) said to an A&R girl (artist and repertoire) from EMI who had counter-argued everything he had just said about how to get a good recording.

This was at a round-table discussion I attended back in the 90s. He said it was all about the performance. She said the performance didn't matter - it was all about the package and marketing.

Fed-up with this nonsense, he chucked his pencil at her and said "If you know so bloody much, where's your Lear Jet? Mine's parked at City Airport, but where's yours?"

joedizzle
2 months ago

The late Roger Ebert was the only person I trusted with reviews. He was very articulate and comprehensive without being too verbose with his reviews. And he would point out issues with the story specifically.

In contrast, I don't know which reviewer it was, but I was flabbergasted when a reviewer stated that Aquaman has too much water in the film! Lol.

Brant
2 months ago
Brant 2 months ago

I saw “Goldfinch” this evening and what is so upsetting is that the opinion of reviewers seems to track so much else in what appears to be a rapid decline in intellect, civility, and society in general.  

The film’s visual language is sensitive, every shot meaningful, yet understated, and utterly lost upon nearly every three-sentence “film critic” who somehow gets quoted on review sites like Rotten Tomatoes. The unmitigated garbage the film industry cranks out week after week somehow gets a pass while this very finely crafted film, thoughtful, and introspective at times, is tongue-lashed.

If “The Graduate” were released today I believe it would have likely received a similar response.  “Goldfinch” is not perfect but it’s an excellent film bravely released at an otherwise dark time in cinema and elsewhere.  I hope it’s not the last.

The Byre
2 months ago
The Byre 2 months ago

I haven't seen Goldfinch yet, but -

Unfortunately, today's cinema audience wants (or needs?) a movie to have a clear identity - and that means a clear tag-line.  One short sentence that tells the audience what is about to happen and also creates an ironic situation.

If the movie is as good as Brant says it is, it will just have a nice long tail and earn money for decades to come.  

The down-side is that nobody will risk making any more thoughtful 'discussion' films.  This is a market today in which movies like Gone with the Wind would never get made in the first place.  No space monkeys, no shoot-outs, no hardened cop with an estranged wife and a drinking problem and no car-chase.  By today's strange standards, Gone with the Wind ain't much of a movie at all!

Mike
2 months ago

Ditto that! But “after all, tomorrow is another day”.

The Byre
2 months ago

So Mike enlighten me! Where, apart from The Dark Side (i.e. Netflix et al) does one distribute a movie like Goldfinch or any other discussion movie that may indeed be a great work of art, but does not feature one single space monkey?

As much as I'm a great believer in the 'Save The Cat' format - hell, it works for Shakespeare and The Bible - but what happens to all those movies and other story forms that are not three acts, B-story, bad guys close in, fight-back and epilogue?

Mike
2 months ago

I was agreeing with you Andrew, so put that “broadsword” back into its scabbard before you break that “Ming” vase. I have not seen the ‘Goldfinch’ but it now seems I have to rush out and get a copy. Why is everybody getting upset about a few critics, they are not important anyway, they say, “If you can, DO!, if you can’t, then be a ‘Critic”. They critique because they are employed by a newspaper or fashionable magazine and want to impress their editor, in other words, they want to make a name for themselves because that’s all they’ve got, their employers love them, they help to sell newspapers and then it becomes topical for TV and Radio networks, it’s all part of the circus to keep the money rolling in. It’s only a game after all but some people take it to heart because it can get personal, if you have a strong personality then you can over ride it, but if you have a sensitive nature and are deeply affected by what you read, then they have you by the “short and curlies” and that is what it’s all about, they want power and influence to control others.

Brant
2 months ago

Hi Mike, the point I was making early was the reviewer reaction seems symptom of a much larger phenomena, which is anti intellectualism spanning all of society. There is far greater tolerance and acceptance, perhaps celebration of, talentless mediocrity and the obscenely violent. And that bothers me.

David W
2 months ago

It's not the critic reviews that upset me, they're irrelevant. It's the fact that most people will look at those reviews and decide the movie isnt worth seeing, I've seen this among strangers, friends, family, and coworkers, a lot of people dont seem to want to formulate their own opinions.

Mike
2 months ago

I do agree with both of you. Have you noticed that when they go into a super market or electrical store, they immediately check their phones to see if they can obtain the same goods cheaper online, it happens every-time I go shopping, people have to cross reference prices before they make a purchase. They cannot make a decision on their own, they have lost the capacity to think for themselves. These are classed by the marketing people as C1 and C2’s and under that you have D and E’s. These are the one’s that distributors target, these are the one’s that pay the bills. They have already ‘reached their level of competence’ and can be manoeuvred and positioned, most Film and TV commercials are aimed at these categories. They also listen to film critics and are influenced by what they have say because they assume film critics know what they are talking about. Their eloquence in writing has been well practiced and they know how to intimidate Film Directors/Producers and DP’s. It’s a game they play and they do get well paid for it. It gives them status and some enjoy that privilege by mixing with the stars to get a “scoop”. At this point honesty and integrity are superseded by greed and profit making the job disreputable.

Marty Hammond Rait
4 weeks ago
Marty Hammond Rait 4 weeks ago

Mr. Deakins, I watched Goldfinch and for me it seems personal film of the year. And the way of storytelling could be comparing with Solaris or Terrence Malick films. Kinda a story through shattered memories of Theo. It's like psychological puzzle where you trying to figure it out the figure and thoughts of protagonist. And your work still one of the best in this year. Such a sadness that film was destroyed by the critics cause I'm sured that audience would really like this one. A lot of people've said that film was really good or okey and all of them cannot understand such dishonest at the box office 

Want to ask you is there will be additional footage for Goldfinch? Or maybe director's cut?

Back to Film Talk...